Primary Ballet 1 (5's Ballet)

Hannah Moore
Pure Dance Works: 5 (map and directions)
Monday, 5:45 PM - 6:45 PM
Start Date: 08/21/17
Duration: 36 Weeks
End Date: 05/21/18

Waitlist

A weekly, one hour Primary Ballet 1 class designed for children who are 5 on October 1 of the school year in which class begins.

Students perform primary ballet skills that are just right for a 5 year-old's developmental abilities. As compared to a pre-ballet class, primary dancers' increased muscle strength and control, along with greater cognitive capabilities, mean that these dancers work turned out a majority of the time, start to learn more complex arm positions and movements, and enjoy learning more intricate group movement patterns.  Students continue to increase in their knowledge and understanding of  French terminology. Exercises to increase musical awareness, balance, agility and gross motor development continue to be practiced.  Because five's easily relate the world of pretend play to real life, skills are often introduced through imaginative story lines. The intentional use of props such as ribbon rings and scarves foster creativity and artistry, & provide a deeper understanding of concepts presented in class, such as sharp and smooth movement. All of this adds up to developmentally appropriate ballet technique for 5 year-olds presented in a fun, kid-friendly atmosphere.

This class is designed with the typical physical, social, emotional and cognitive developmental abilities of 5 year olds in mind. Children must be 5 by October 1 to enroll in Dashing Dancers. Because the curriculum is based on the age and corresponding developmental abilities of children in the fall and progresses incrementally throughout the school year, strict adherence to the age requirement is enforced.

Dress code for 5's is the light pink pinch front tank leotard, ballet pink dance tights and pink leather ballet shoes. Hair must be secured in a bun.

-->Want to take more than one style of dance? Consider our tap and/or musical theatre add-on classes. These 30 minute classes happen immediately before or after ballet to provide young children and families an easy way to manage multiple dance styles. Students MUST be enrolled in a standard length sixty minute class to enroll in add-on classes.

Upcoming Meetings
12/18/17    5:45 PM Monday 12/18/17 5:45 PM
12/25/17    <None> Monday (Christmas Break) 12/25/17 (Christmas Break)
01/01/18    <None> Monday (Christmas Break) 01/01/18 (Christmas Break)
01/08/18    5:45 PM Monday 01/08/18 5:45 PM
01/15/18    5:45 PM Monday 01/15/18 5:45 PM
01/22/18    5:45 PM Monday 01/22/18 5:45 PM
01/29/18    5:45 PM Monday 01/29/18 5:45 PM
02/05/18    5:45 PM Monday 02/05/18 5:45 PM
02/12/18    5:45 PM Monday 02/12/18 5:45 PM
02/19/18    5:45 PM Monday 02/19/18 5:45 PM
02/26/18    5:45 PM Monday 02/26/18 5:45 PM
03/05/18    5:45 PM Monday 03/05/18 5:45 PM
03/12/18    5:45 PM Monday 03/12/18 5:45 PM
03/19/18    5:45 PM Monday 03/19/18 5:45 PM
03/26/18    5:45 PM Monday 03/26/18 5:45 PM
04/02/18    <None> Monday (Spring Break) 04/02/18 (Spring Break)
04/09/18    5:45 PM Monday 04/09/18 5:45 PM
04/16/18    5:45 PM Monday 04/16/18 5:45 PM
04/23/18    5:45 PM Monday 04/23/18 5:45 PM
04/30/18    5:45 PM Monday 04/30/18 5:45 PM
05/07/18    5:45 PM Monday 05/07/18 5:45 PM
05/14/18    5:45 PM Monday 05/14/18 5:45 PM
05/21/18    5:45 PM Monday 05/21/18 5:45 PM