Contemporary 2 (Co-requisite of Jazz or Ballet)

Savannah Serban
Pure Dance Works: 5 (map and directions)
Monday, 8:30 PM - 9:15 PM
Start Date: 08/02/17
Duration: 36 Weeks
End Date: 04/30/18

Contemporary 2 is an intermediate/advanced level class for students with previous modern or contemporary experience, plus previous ballet or jazz. Minimum age is 11. A co-requisite of jazz and/or ballet is required for enrollment in contemporary. (Jazz is the first choice in a co-requisite.) Students will be assessed the first month of class to ensure proper placement and personal skill development.

Contemporary dance can be described a fusion of modern and jazz dance. Students will study contract-release, floor work, fall and recovery, and improvisation techniques along with stressing controlled legwork and use of the torso while learning expressive movements that makes this style fun to dance and exciting to watch. 

Contemporary students wear a black tank pinch front leotard, ballet pink OR tan tights. Solid black dance shorts, pants or a solid black dance skirt are optional. Required shoes are Theatricals "Footnotes" in Nude. All hair must be secured in a bun, pony tail or braid. 

Upcoming Meetings
12/18/17    8:30 PM Monday 12/18/17 8:30 PM
12/25/17    <None> Monday (Christmas Break) 12/25/17 (Christmas Break)
01/01/18    <None> Monday (Christmas Break) 01/01/18 (Christmas Break)
01/08/18    8:30 PM Monday 01/08/18 8:30 PM
01/15/18    8:30 PM Monday 01/15/18 8:30 PM
01/22/18    8:30 PM Monday 01/22/18 8:30 PM
01/29/18    8:30 PM Monday 01/29/18 8:30 PM
02/05/18    8:30 PM Monday 02/05/18 8:30 PM
02/12/18    8:30 PM Monday 02/12/18 8:30 PM
02/19/18    8:30 PM Monday 02/19/18 8:30 PM
02/26/18    8:30 PM Monday 02/26/18 8:30 PM
03/05/18    8:30 PM Monday 03/05/18 8:30 PM
03/12/18    8:30 PM Monday 03/12/18 8:30 PM
03/19/18    8:30 PM Monday 03/19/18 8:30 PM
03/26/18    8:30 PM Monday 03/26/18 8:30 PM
04/02/18    <None> Monday (Spring Break) 04/02/18 (Spring Break)
04/09/18    8:30 PM Monday 04/09/18 8:30 PM
04/16/18    8:30 PM Monday 04/16/18 8:30 PM
04/23/18    8:30 PM Monday 04/23/18 8:30 PM
04/30/18    8:30 PM Monday 04/30/18 8:30 PM